What Relaxers actually do.

My sister called me up to tell me her hair got burnt while getting a retouch and was wondering what to do with it as she needed to go to work.Very funny,i said you didnt ask me before you put the chemical until  after you got seriously burnt? (Not like i would have been able to convince her not to get one anyways).I asked to see some pictures and they look seriously bad to me.

Before my decision to return natural(we actually dont go natural,we “return” natural because natural was where it all began from), i had  a lot of horrible experiences with relaxers in my hair. I tried a lot of  them so i could try to get what works for my hair,i tried the “no lye” to “kiddies” etc they all did the same thing to me.The middle part of my hair looks all relaxed and long,the front gets burnt and thins out,i will have to find a way to deal with the burns before installing whatever extension thats next and when its finally all healed i go back to the same procedures. They said i had a soft scalp(whatever that meant),am glad i found what finally works for me. My front hair is growing,getting thicker and full.

Why would i want to go through this?

Image

 When i can have a full hair like this

Image

:D.

Here’s a link to Dr Oz’s version of the “Lye Experiment” to imagine what it really does to your skin.

About naturalrify

Hello, my name is Rify and welcome to my page, where I record my personal journey to growing healthy, natural hair while sharing tips and info on hair care and every other nice thing i learn on this journey. Enjoy your time & stay connected. Thank you for visiting and God bless.
This entry was posted in Going natural?, Hair care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What Relaxers actually do.

  1. TiffanyJades says:

    I have burnt my scalp sooooo many times with relaxer. It just became the norm when I was younger but really bad! It is scary what the chemical does to your skin. I once had a cut on my forehead where a strand of hair that had relaxer on was touching my skin. I apply it myself in a different way now so don’t have any problems but I have considered stopping.

    • naturalrify says:

      I can imagine what pain you must have had with the relaxer touching your cut. I have gone through that so many times as well. Returning Natural is the best decision I have made for my hair as my curls are thicker now and no more chemical burns.
      I hope you finally do make up your mind to stop.
      Thank you.

Leave a Reply

