DIY Protein Treatment

I have had a really bad internet connection for sometime. So sickening but its okay now, I hope.
  Well, one of the most interesting thing about returning natural for me is being able to try out my own all natural stuff to see what really works for my hair . It’s an exciting feeling when it turns out fine eventually and I dont have to follow what works for someone else all the time.
I haven’t had a  full sew in weave since I started transitioning, considering that’s what I usually did before then I wonder how I could have stayed so long without it. Am preparing to have one finally, not like am excited about it but just craving for a change. I decided to have a protein treatment before this, my hair sure needed it. I don’t know if this is a full protein treatment though as it has some moisturizing effects too and I totally love  the feel of my hair afterwards.

Recipe:

Hair mayonnaise
Food mayonnaise
Olive oil
Shea butter
Apple cider vinegar(ACV)

Procedure:

I really don’t measure these things, I check to know how much I can use up at once. This is what works for me though.

-I mix them up properly in a bowl.
-Have hair parted in four.
-Massage thoroughly from the ends to the roots.
-Put on a plastic cap.
-Use a heat wrap over it.
-Let it stay in for at least 3hours or as long as you can

image

I used more of the food mayonnaise because it showed to have more protein ingredients than what is written on the hair mayonnaise.  The smell doesn’t stay there at all, it went off as I washed. I was too tired so I slept with this and washed off when I woke up, and this was just like a 3hrs nap.

   My hair felt really soft, moisturized and the stretch was back (that’s what protein does). I really really love the outcome, I was going to add honey to the mixture but I forgot so that would be for next time maybe.

What do you like most about returning natural?

About naturalrify

Hello, my name is Rify and welcome to my page, where I record my personal journey to growing healthy, natural hair while sharing tips and info on hair care and every other nice thing i learn on this journey. Enjoy your time & stay connected. Thank you for visiting and God bless.
This entry was posted in DIY, Hair care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to DIY Protein Treatment

  1. Linda dulani says:

    Relaxed hair needs a lot of admin i.e relaxing every three months natural hair has none of that. Getting caught in the rain doesn’t mean it’s the end of the world.

  2. naturalrify says:

    Exactly. Natural hair actually has less stress when you do the right things

Leave a Reply

