Protein/Moisture balance in the hair.

As much as its good to have the hair moisturized,its more important to know when it is overdone. The hair is made up of mostly protein (Keratin precisely),due to the excessive manipulation,heat and chemicals that are done to the hair it loses protein. I read a lot of articles online about natural hair and all what to expect,what to do etc but that was when i started the journey earlier,right now i just choose to listen to my hair more and understand what it really needs. Some of these articles helped me a lot though,an example is to know when to balance the protein and moisture level in my hair.

I do this strand test to ensure the health of my hair and to help prevent breakage.This is usually done on my wash days because its easier for me to get a “shed” hair. There is a difference between a shedding and breakage,the “shed” hair will have a white bulb on the end meaning it comes off from the root.

Strand Test.

Take a strand of the wet “shed” hair

Hold on to the ends and stretch

If the hair stretches slightly and returns to its original length: its balanced

If it has a little or no stretch and then breaks off: it needs more moisture

If it stretches continuously more than it should and breaks off: more protein is required.

You can also tell by how your hair feels;

If it feels rough,hard,brittle and tangled: it needs some moisture

If it feels limp,gummy and soft; protein is needed.

When i realize what my hair needs i follow up immediately. I love the DIY treatments i do for my hair,i know just how much i need to add and i get pleased with the outcome.

About naturalrify

Hello, my name is Rify and welcome to my page, where I record my personal journey to growing healthy, natural hair while sharing tips and info on hair care and every other nice thing i learn on this journey. Enjoy your time & stay connected. Thank you for visiting and God bless.
This entry was posted in Hair care, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Protein/Moisture balance in the hair.

  1. Thank you for this info. I am going to do the strand test on my daughter’s hair tonight too. She swims everyday so protecting her hair is vitally important.

Leave a Reply

