My Yarn Protective Braids

Wow! So this yarn/wool braid has been on the list for too long. Kept talking about how much I wanted to have them in and never got to but now I finally did.

   Pleased? Hmmm, I have had them in for exactly one week and just writing on it maybe because I have been thinking on what to do, if to take them down or deal with it a little longer to get used to it. The hair is quite full and heavy, it was put in hot water after braiding to help ease up quicker. Yarn absorbs water and this added more weight, I have had it packed in a bun to reduce the weight for the whole week.lol
  
      I get a lot of compliment: “oh wow your hair is so fine and i just wish they know what am going through”.

     Well it’s one week now and the hair is a lot more relaxed and the water completely dried but it’s so full. I forgot to take a picture of the yarn I used to explain more on the weight but if you are in Nigeria you may know how it’s rolled here. I used the baby wool and the stylist used fifteen rolls of that. Oh boy was I sleeping? It’s long though but I can’t try using that much again maybe 8-10 rolls should go well. This is the second time I am ever having yarn and the first was about 6years ago or so.
  My edges are okay, as much as I want to rock my yarn braid the main purpose is to protect my hair and not stress them so much.I dont know how long I am going to have them in for, time will decide that.
Here are some pictures of it.

image

image

image

Have you had yarn braids in, what do you think of it?

About naturalrify

Hello, my name is Rify and welcome to my page, where I record my personal journey to growing healthy, natural hair while sharing tips and info on hair care and every other nice thing i learn on this journey. Enjoy your time & stay connected. Thank you for visiting and God bless.
This entry was posted in Going natural?, Transitioning or a Big Chop?, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to My Yarn Protective Braids

  1. Fashstyleliv says:

    I think this style suits you so well and i am pretty sure when you take them out your hair would have grown very well…xxx

  2. Reblogged this on Natural Hair Care Tips and commented:
    What a great idea! re-blogging this one.

  3. I love it!!! I may try them!

  4. Tafi says:

    Wow, I have yarn in my hair too! I did yarn twists, did them myself, which was painful and took forever. Yours look really pretty, I think I might try longer ones in braids next time.

    • naturalrify says:

      Oh really? One thing I always wish to try: doing the braids myself. But of course if someone else is doing them for you, they should look prettier except you are really good at it. Thank you Tafi

  5. these are really nice on you!!! love them! I’d love to get these, but how long did it take?

  6. peace says:

    I just got my first yarn braids,is there anyway I can moisturise my hair while they’re in these style..is yarn braids suitable for long natural hair.

    • naturalrify says:

      Yes it’s suitable for long hair as well. I use my hair spritz daily or when I feel my hair needs it and it works for me. I have olive oil, glycerin and more of water in the spray bottle. And I clean my scalp with Apple Cider Vinegar except in some cases when I decide to wash with shampoo. I hope this answers your question, Thank you for stopping by.

  7. ifeyinwa says:

    Hey! Nice braids u got. Okayyy, I have a bunch of questions to ask. But let’s start with the one seriously bothering me. I used wool for my yarn braids. I watched lotta videos on you tube and learnt wool isn’t the best. Like I shudav used acrylic, wool locks the hair!!. And it’s scary coz I planned on carrying mine for at least 2months and no dread lock plans..
    Reading through, realised u used same.
    How safe is wool?

    • naturalrify says:

      Thank you ifeyinwa for reading through. I used wool for my braids and I didnt have a problem with it. When it was time to take down, I did that in sections.I used my water spray on my scalp to ensure i wasn’t working on a dry scalp.It helps to prevent breakages, I worked on each strand carefully to ensure my hair wasn’t tangled and put them in sections. I think i had the hair for about 2months, I cant really remember but i didn’t have a problem with it.
      I hope this was helpful.

  8. Oluwadunsin says:

    I’m planning to install yarn braids. Since my hair isn’t relaxed, i’m sure it will blend well with my hair which an extension would never do. #fighting.

  9. Illona says:

    WOW it look sooooo good love it i have in yarn as well a little longer than urs it took me 5 hours i did it myself….

  10. Braids says:

    Hey what kind of wool did you used and how did you do it? It looks syntetic, but it’s very beautiful. Want to do this too:)

  11. vicky says:

    I love your yard braids they are beautiful! i wear yard braids offten, how many strands of yard did you use for one braid? bcause they look small, i use 3 0r 4 , i have used 2 but to small take 4ever 2 take down, i like them bette than useing hair to braid with much lighter and looks ore natural.

  12. vicky says:

    I think yarn braids r the best braiding style there is.. its better than synthertic r human hair extenions, ive had it all ,i love keeping my natural hair braided, only one thing my hair do not like glycerin in the weater and fall months, what do you remain i use to keep my hair under the yarn care for, i use acrylic yarn.THANKS!

    • naturalrify says:

      Yea yarn braids are really that good. Have you tried olive oil, almond oil since glycerin doesnt really work for you?. They are good moisturizers as well. Let me know how it goes. Thank you dear

  13. esther says:

    Can you please tell me where you get your hair done

  14. Braids says:

    Can you send me a pic of what kind of yarn you used? 🙂

  15. Braids says:

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

