100% Coconut Oil

Am still on my journey to fix my damaged hair and promised myself i was going to make my coconut oil during the easter holiday. This is my 1st attempt and am really glad it came out great.

Making coconut oil is really not difficult at all but it costs so much buying a pure coconut oil in Nigeria. The holiday was approaching and i decided to use that time to make mine. That reduces the list of products to purchase by one. (LOL)

Even the coconut itself is expensive in Abuja,but since i was travellin to the east for the holiday and it costs way cheaper there it was a good timing for me then.My mum helped purchase and blended them the day i was to arrive,soaked in water and i continued from there when i got in. This was a lot easier as the major work had been done (Thanks Mum)

Down to how this was prooduced;

There are different methods you can use but i used the boiling method.

Using a cheesecloth,i poured the puree and squeezed using my hands to get as much milk as i can.I left it overnight to solidify.(Putting it in the fridge would have been the best option but the containers were too big to get in),well i just covered the containers.The next morning,two layers were formed,the cream is solidified on top and the water was underneath.

image

Carefully,i scooped the cream into a pot and poured the water out as it wasn’t useful anymore.

Then heat until the oil is separated from the cream,the residue turns brown. This took close to an hour so you have to be patient. At a point i thought i had messed it up because i didnt know it was going to take that long. Sieve the residue out and you have your oil.

image

I was so excited  after this and i got this  much. Some of the milk got into the bottle as seen from the discoloration at the bottom but that’s not a problem for me , will just use the oil

image

This smells soooooo nice,am certain i have my 100% coconut oil. I use this on my skin and food too,the tatse is awesome. I will try the cold pressed method next time but this should be lasting for a while. My hair loves this too. hehehe

What natural product/oil have you made? please share.

About naturalrify

Hello, my name is Rify and welcome to my page, where I record my personal journey to growing healthy, natural hair while sharing tips and info on hair care and every other nice thing i learn on this journey. Enjoy your time & stay connected. Thank you for visiting and God bless.
This entry was posted in DIY, Hair care, Hair Growth and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

